Latest Articles

Police officers see more than
their fair share of trauma and
tragedy in their career. They
put their lives on the line every
day to keep the public safe.

But what happens when a
cop faces murder in their own
family? This is the theme local
author, Jane Isaac, addresses
in her latest crime thriller, A
Deathly Silence, published by
Legend Press this October.

A Deathly Silence is the third
in Jane’s DCI Helen Lavery
series, following An Unfamiliar
Murder in 2012 and The Truth
Will Out in 2014, and is set in a
fictional county, loosely based on

Jane has taken a break over the
past few years to write the DI Will
Jackman series, based in Stratford
upon Avon, and the DC Beth
Chamberlain (Family Liaison Officer)
series, based in Northamptonshire,
and was delighted to have been
commissioned for a new DCI Helen
Lavery novel as this is where her
writing journey began.

An Unfamiliar Murder was
nominated as best mystery in
the ‘eFestival of Words Best of
the Independent e-book awards
2013’. The Truth Will Out was
selected Thriller of the Month by in July 2014, and
both reached the top 5 in Amazon’s
Kindle chart. Jane’s fifth novel,
The Lies Within, was BBC Radio
Northampton book club selection
in October 2017 and featured at the
Althorp Literary Festival.

The new release marks Isaac’s
eighth novel and will be available
in e-book and paperback on
Amazon, and in paperback in
local bookshops, such as all local
Waterstones and W H Smiths, and
also in Oundle Bookshop.

Jane Isaac lives in Loddington with
her husband and daughter where
she can often be found trudging
over the fields with her dogs, Bollo
and Digity. She loves to talk to
writing and reading groups.

If you wish to arrange a talk,
contact her through her website at

A Deathly Silence